Drunk driving is a problem all year long, but during the holidays it escalates. Maybe it is the holiday party season or the need to numb feelings of sadness that can creep in at this time of year. Whatever the reason for the alcohol consumption, the fact remains that driving after you've had a few drinks can land you in legal trouble.
Kentucky has some pretty strict DUI laws. For example, did you know that vehicle confiscation is possible when you are charged with a DUI? Other penalties are also strict. On a first-time DUI, you face having your driver's license suspended for 30 days. With each subsequent DUI, the penalties get worse.
One consequence that those who are convicted of drunk driving in this state might have to endure is the ignition interlock. These devices are installed in your vehicle and are machines that you blow into before the vehicle will start. If you blow into it and your blood alcohol concentration is determined to be above the preset limit, your vehicle won't start.
If your BAC was .15 percent or above when you were pulled over, you are facing the mandatory use of an ignition interlock, even if it was your first offense. This can make it very difficult for some people to drive a vehicle because of the cost associated with installing and calibrating the device each month, which falls on the person convicted of DUI.
Ultimately, you have the right to fight against the DUI. You can learn about the options that you have for fighting back so that you can decide what you are going to do.
Source: FindLaw, "Kentucky DUI Laws," accessed Dec. 01, 2016